top of page
  • Angela Sanil

The Hawthorne Legacy (The Inheritance Games #2)

Jennifer Lynn Barnes

 

The Hawthorne Legacy (The Inheritance Games #2) by Jennifer Lynn Barnes

Released: September 7, 2021

Pages: 368

Publisher: Penguin Books


Overall: 5/5

Plot: 4/5

Characters: 5/5

Setting & World-building: 5/5

Emotional Investment: 5/5


"That was why he'd started looking at me like I was a mystery again, a puzzle that he, and he only he could solve."


I have officially accomplished everything I ever wanted in my life. This book has single-handedly cured all my problems. Also, I have recently decided to not write quick summaries for books after one in any series. Book one: The Inheritance Games.


Where to start? Avery Grambs is still our very confused, determined 17-year-old girl. And now she has to deal with the fact that she personally knows the allegedly dead son of the Hawthorne family. She honestly is such a well-written character. I personally relate to her a lot, because all she wants is to feel like she belongs and protect her family but she keeps being put in situations that she feels no comfort in. But she adapts and grows and that is what we call a girlboss.


Despite what a lot of other reviews I've read have said, I think the plot of this book was excellent. It picked up exactly where it left off and she and Jameson have a bet going on who can solve the mystery first. The story then followed a lot of plot twists and new information. At times I was a little confused because I lowkey forget a lot of the side characters' names, but once things started coming back to me everything made sense. It was so fun reading where Barnes was going to take the mystery because so much of it was alluding to a biological connection which would be quite awkward for Jameson and Grayson. There was one plot twist at the beginning that I was super impressed by, but then later was refuted. Usually, I hate when authors do that because then I feel like entire portions of the book are unnecessary. But not Jennifer Barnes. I actually screamed when she did that because I was so hurt for Avery, but then also impressed by how that second plot twist added more to the story rather than feeling wasteful.


I really, really appreciated how they kind of got closer to the Hawthorne brothers aunt, Zara. Like yes, she was totally cold but we got to learn a little more about her in this book and it was beautiful. She has every reason to be cold and even more reasons to hate the boys, but she doesn't and I thought it was excellent character development. We also get an amazing appearance from Avery's best friend Max. I freaking love Max. Like, she is amazing and the lengths she went for Avery just embodies the perfect friendship. Also, I feel a budding relationship between Xander and Max, and I am definitely here for it.


Now what we were all here for. Jameson vs. Grayson. I can assure you how strong of a Grayson stan I was prior to this book. Like, my friend literally yelled at me over this. But there was something about this book. Suddenly, I'm in love with Jameson. Like my god, he makes me swoon. He totally was using Avery in the beginning, but there were some specific parts of the book where I was like oh my god, y'all need to profess love and like live in a cabin solving puzzles. I have a tiny part of my heart that believes in Grayson, but it is very small. There just wasn't that much Grayson and Avery content in this book. There were a couple of key moments but, Avery's response to them and her response to Jameson have such different degrees of emotion. ALSO, isn't the nickname Heiress literally the cutest thing ever. I really do love Jameson and I think the ending of the book was so perfect for them. Now I am slightly scared that Barnes is going to pull a whole switcheroo and in the final book she is going to end up with nobody. Like, maybe Avery needs to learn how to live on her own or whatever. That is going to make me lose my shit. No thank you, I reject that proposition.


Final shout out to Xander. My scone-loving, robot-building, heathen. I am obsessed with you and it's amazing. I loved how active you became in the investigation because it was your puzzle. Every single one of the brotherly seasons had me squealing because they are literally the best brothers. Now, I totally got the feeling that Xander was feeling left out a lot, which needs to be remedied asap. Otherwise, he was super hyped. Especially when he walked in on them playing strip bowling and saw Max in a bra. STRIP BOWLING. It was amazing. I loved that entire scene so much. Jameson was trying to flirt hard and I was loving it.


My closing thoughts on this book are that it finished way too quickly. And that I am very excited for the next book. I am a little confused about what's it going to be about because this book didn't really leave on a cliffhanger. I don't want Jennifer to write too much and ruin these characters, but I also need so much more Jameson and Avery content. Whatever, I'm excited!


Quotes

"Why kill two birds with one stone, he always said, when you could kill twelve?"


"Would you close the door if I promised very sincerely not to ravish your client?"


"No one is going to believe you chickened out of anything."


"I'm always thinking Heiress." "That's what you love about me."


"You don't have to kiss me now. You don't have to love me now, Heiress. But when you're ready..." "When you're ready, if you're ever ready, if it's going to be me- just flip that disk. Head, I kiss you. Tails, you kiss me. And either way, it means something."

14 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page