top of page
  • Angela Sanil

The Last Magician (The Last Magician #1)

Lisa Maxwell

 

The Last Magician (The Last Magician #1) by Lisa Maxwell

Released: July 18, 2017

Pages: 500

Publisher: Margaret K. McElderry Books


Overall: 4.5/5

Plot: 5/5

Characters: 4/5

Setting & World-building: 3/5

Emotional Investment: 3/5


"Liars do make the best magicians, and he happened to be exceptional"


I've been on a very impressive fantasy kick lately and honestly, I'm surprised. I have read this book before but I loved the concept so much I had to review it and the third book just came out and ya girl was excited.


Quick Summary: New York used to be a place filled with magic. True magic, the magic of the Mageus. That was until the Order was created and their sole purpose was to tell the world how Mageus are dangerous and should be contained. They even went as far as creating the Brink, a barrier of magic that traps any Mageus that enters in, and if they try to escape they would die because the Brink steals their magic. Esta is a talented thief with an affinity for slipping through time and she lives in Modern New York going back in time to steal prized artifacts to one day take down the Brink. Her final mission is that she has to go to 1902 and stop The Magician from stealing the book that solves all her questions. But old New York was a strange time where magic was stronger, and gangs and secret societies run the place. Esta must steal from the past, to ensure a future but how is that possible when everything she thought she knew starts blowing up in her face?


I really do love this book. I think the characters are the thing I love though. I know this book mainly focuses on Esta, Harte, and Dolph but the side characters are just so amazing. I love Viola with such a strong passion and I would sell my soul for her. Jianyu deserves the world, my poor wounded soul that deserves all the love in the world. I know for a fact that the ensemble gets bigger and honestly it is for the best because they all bring something so distinct and pure and watching them interact is so funny. Now I love Harte. That man could lie to me any day and I would love it. He has been through so much and all he wants is to perform and show the world his love for theatre. Dolph despite his morally grey ways is kind of my heart and joy. He just wanted to avenge Leena and do what he thought was best for the Mageus. What happened to him was so unfair and I seriously hate the person who did it, because that plot twist cost me three years of my life. Now, Esta, I have very mixed feelings. Sometimes I could deal with her but other times her blatant invasion of privacy and disregard for other people's feelings pissed me off. Like when she had to move to Harte's house and just used his bathtub and his space without his permission could be cute but I was so angry. I care about privacy and respect and she lacked that severely. But she is a semi-fun character to read so I will manage.


Now the actual plot of this story is about magic. Mageus have born magic that is natural and different affinities they have to practice and hone. The Order tries to replicate magic by splitting up the elements (which is the opposite of what they should be doing). Now the Order has a lot of power and thus has made the Mageus very submissive and scared for their life. I don't really agree with either group's way of dealing with the situation. If everyone could stop being selfish and just be grateful for what they have, half the problems would be solved. I do think the one problem both parties have is Jack Grew. This man is a class A idiot and it is the best comedy ever. Homeboy is trying to outshine the world and in the progress is pissing off his own team (the Order). I do really like the idea of a magic barrier because it kind of confines the setting. I mean do know the ending but everyone else still has to stay inside of New York and it makes all the tension rise.


This review makes no coherent sense, but do you know who I want to talk about again? Dolph. He was such a good guy. Very manipulative and I probably would have hated him in person but he was such a good character to read about. All his character traits made sense and it provided such beautiful imagery. Do you know who he reminds me of? A less extreme version of Kaz Brecker from Six of Crows by Leigh Bardugo. Like they both have canes and are angsty people. Kaz in the Shadow and Bone show is supposed to be in his twenties just like Dolph. Wow, now that I've made that comparison I can't see anything else.


I really do recommend this book despite my rambly review. If anything read it for the plot twists. There are like five in this book alone. Lisa Maxwell really knows how to keep people waiting and reading for more because you will not be disappointed. Also, the next book is such a wower and I need people to read that.


Quotes

"Control doesn't have anything to do with fear. Control is all about making them think following you is their idea."


"Change your feathers often enough, and the mark won't recognize the bird."


"Regret was for people who dragged their past along with them everywhere."

4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page