top of page
  • Angela Sanil

A Court of Mist and Fury (ACOTAR #2)

Sarah J. Maas

 

A Court of Mist and Fury (ACOTAR #2) by Sarah J. Maas

Released: May 3, 2016

Pages: 626

Publisher: Bloomsbury


Overall: 5/5

Plot: 4/5

Characters: 5/5

Setting & World-building: 5/5

Emotional Investment: 5/5


"And so Tamlin unwittingly led the Lady of the Night Court into the heart of his territory."


Did I rage at a book I already know all the plot twists to? Why yes I did. I am not embarrassed by that fact especially because it was for this book, which by the way, literally owns me.


Quick Summary: Feyre narrowly survived the horrors of Amarantha's reign and now she is a Fae. But with survival comes the memories of what she endured, keeping her up at night and causing a rift between her and her loved ones. But she luckily hasn't been called in for her part of the bargain for Rhysand, the feared High Lord of the Night Court. Despite that, Feyre realizes she might need Rhys' help navigating the political lands, and her new growing powers that could possibly save her new and old home.


I always suck at writing quick summaries for sequels because I kind of just want to write every single thing that happened in the last book instead. Now, where do I start? Sarah J. Maas has written the most incredible second book and she did it without me wanting to chuck this book at a wall. First of all, the world-building of Maas' books never fails to surprise me. I could almost taste the difference in atmospheres and scenery of the Spring Court versus the Night Court. I clearly preferred the Night Court, but that is because I have an amazing prejudice against Tamlin. The fact there are literally so many different communities in one court as opposed to like the Spring Court where everyone was literally the same.


Speaking of the Spring Court, that is where our favorite Feyre starts her story. She is dealing with crippling PTSD and depression from her time Under the Mountain and nobody is helping her. Tamlin says he wants to protect her but he's just controlling her and treating her like a damsel in distress. The entire court is toxic for her so when Rhysand finally swoops in to save the day, let's just say many people in my family woke up angry from my rather passionate hooting. As much as I hate Tamlin, I know he did love Feyre. It was just he loved her to an existent that borderline obsessive and he loved the image of her that he created in her head. This person who he could protect and Feyre didn't want that. I hate it when men think they can make decisions for us without even consulting us.


"Hello, Feyre darling"


Now Rhysand is a legend. He is literally the perfect man. Yes, he does some bad things but I don't think characters would be fun or relatable if they were perfect people. Also, everything Rhysand did, he did to protect the people he loves and therefore very justified in my book. He never gave up on Feyre. He pushed her and made her finally see that she was amazing and a good person on her own. Their banter is truly the best thing in the world. It's cheeky, and cute, and will keep me smiling no matter how many times I reread this book. Rhysand lowkey carried this book, and that is just facts. The first couple of chapters were just boring to me because I really didn't care about Tamlin and his dumb ways. I literally was counting down the page numbers until our man arrived. He is fiercely loyal and I find that the most admirable quality a person can have. Through every horrible thing, he went through all he cared about was if his family, the Inner Circle, were safe and content. That is true friendship right there.


"To the stars who listen- and the dreams that are answered."


Now Feyre had the biggest character development in this book hands down. She started as a girl with immense PTSD and had such a bad self-image. I like how this book incorporated the idea of eating healthy and exercising as good mental health-boosting activities. She truly wanted to care about the novelties of her new life but she was stuck with the guilt of the innocent blood spilled on her hands. It genuinely broke my heart when she admitted to the Weaver that she wanted to die. She wanted to die, rather than live with the guilt and that made me empathize with her so much. Bad things happen and sometimes they are so overwhelming all you want is an escape. Luckily as she got better in the Night Court by being around people who supported her and allowed her to be who she wanted to be. This was so good because by the end of the book she was so confident in her abilities and she was just as fiercely loyal to her new family as Rhysand is. The only thing that I wished would happen is Feyre standing up and bashing Nesta. Nesta was so rude when she found out Feyre was a Fae, especially after the slight character development Nesta had in book one.


"When you spend so long trapped in the darkness, Lucien, you find that the darkness begins to stare back."


Meeting the Inner Circle was and always will be my favorite thing ever. Mor had all the sass and confidence I wish I had. Amren just was like the angry short one who was too wise to a point where people were scared of her. Cassian is my favorite himbo, even though he's not actually a himbo. And Azriel. Azriel the beautifully tortured individual who requires the biggest hug in the world. They all brought something different to the character group dynamics. Honestly, if there was a 600-page book on just the domestic life of the Inner Circle, I would be first in line to buy it. I just love them so much.


"He thinks he'll be remembered as the villain of the story.

But I forgot to tell him, that the villain is usually the person who locks up the maiden and throws away the key.

He was the one who let me out."


This book is also the book the taught me to believe in love again. Rhysand and Feyre's love is basically two enemies (not even really) who become friends, who become best friends who flirt, to lovers whose love would literally obliterate their enemies. They are truly the best people for each other and reading them fall in love, the slow-burn was so beautiful even if it killed me sometimes. I think I just love how their relationship is based on noticing the small things. The small reactions so that when the big things happen they always know they have each other. Also how amazing is the last line of the book. Making her the High Lady is the most genius idea in the world, because yes, let's abolish the patriarchy.


This was a pretty long review and I think it's just because I love this book so much. I need everyone to read this book because I need to share my annotations with someone. They were truly the most absurd thing ever, so everyone better get on reading this book.


Quotes


"You want to save the mortal realm? Then become someone Prythian listens to. Become vital. Become a weapon."


"Your very blood, your veins, your bones were Made. A mortal soul in an immortal body."


"So I'm your huntress and thief?"

"You are my salvation, Feyre."


"I could learn to love it, I realized. The flying."


"No one was my master- but I might be master of everything. If I wished. If I dared."


"To the people who look at the stars and wish, Rhys."


"And then- then I learned your name. Hearing you say it... it was like an answer to a question I'd been asking for five hundred years."


"I want you to know, that I'm broken and healing, but every piece of my heart belongs to you. I am honored- honored to be you mate."


"We deserve each other. And we deserve to be happy."


"I was his and he was mine, and we were the beginning and middle and end. We were a song that had been sung from the very first ember of light in the world."

5 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page