top of page
  • Angela Sanil

A Court of Silver Flames (ACOTAR #4)

Sarah J. Maas

 

A Court of Silver Flames (ACOTAR #4) by Sarah J. Maas

Released: February 16, 2021

Pages: 757

Publisher: Bloomsbury


Overall: 4/5

Plot: 3/5

Characters: 5/5

Setting & World-building: 5/5

Emotional Investment: 5/5


"So Nesta became a wolf. Armed herself with invisible teeth and claws, and learned to strike faster, deeper, more lethally."


Wow, I really committed to this long-ass book. I spent like two days reading this and writing down actual theories, I deserve an award.


Quick Summary: Nesta Archeron has always been the stoic, formidable, quick to anger sister, but especially so after the events of the war, which still torment her. As she tries to find a way to fit into the Night Court she gets pushed to get better and heal, unfortunately allowing Cassian, Feyre, and Rhysand's esteemed general to constantly be in her orbit. As the sexual tension increases between them, they must either work together or fall apart to save themselves from the possibility of a new war.


Okay, first of all, the summary gives an illusion of a very action-filled war plot. That is not true. This is a very character-driven healing-based plot for Nesta. Now to say I was Nesta's biggest fan before this book would be a complete lie. I thoroughly resented her for putting Feyre through so much, even though some of her feelings I started to understand because I do have a sister of my own. But I think reading her story was a necessity in my life. Now her healing in this book might seem very fast to some, which I understand because in some parts I thought that too, but in others, you have to remember this book takes over a course of months. Also, Sarah has said that this is the beginning of her healing journey is so I'm grateful.


"I am the rock against which the surf crashes."


I think reading Nesta's story helped me understand why she did what she did. She loves so much and cares so much and she never thinks she is worthy of any of it. That broke my heart, especially how she doesn't think she deserves Feyre or her dad's love. I'm also really glad she made friends in this book. Gwyn and Emerie are the two coolest people, I swear. Gwyn has the most bubbly personality ever despite the horrors she has lived through and Emerie is one strong individual pushing every day to lay her claim on the world. All three of them together are so freaking powerful. Also, they read smutty books together. Lmao, that is a very bonding event.


""There will be no one else. For either of us."

"Yes," she whispered.

"Ever," he promised."


Now Cassian and Nesta are an amazing couple. I do like Feysand more (sorry not sorry). But... Nessian holds a special place in my heart. They are both effortlessly there for each other. I'm going to be honest he's more there for her than she is for him, only because I think this is truly Nesta's story, so Cassian didn't have much-hidden trauma. I did really like their tension though. They just so much passion and love that they masked it as hatred and just friendship for so long it was comedic.


""You're an arrogant bastard."

"And you're a haughty witch. We're evenly matched.""


Feyre's pregnancy was obviously a big plot point in this story. I personally, didn't mind because I love her and I really wanted Feyre and Nesta's relationship to heal. I was so utterly pissed off at Rhysand and the Inner Circle for hiding Feyre's pregnancy risks from her. Like I love him and all but I was so angry with him for doing that. I understood why he did it - to find a solution before he told, so he wouldn't scare her, and he didn't want to confront the truth. But it was pathetic. She deserved to know and when she finally found out, I was like thank god. Now Nesta telling her also pissed me off. Because Nesta didn't tell it to her out of love, but out of anger and pettiness. She went over a line by doing that. Nesta was angry at Amren and fucked Feyre over by spilling the beans that way.. Now Rhysand saying he would kill Nesta was very extreme. So fucking extreme. But it also made sense because everyone was upset with Nesta and the whole territorial male thing.


"Keep reaching out your hand."


I do not think it is probable at all that three novices that have trained for like 6 months will complete the Blood Rite, but I understood how that is a plot-fulfilling event. It upped the stakes a lot and it was truly a moment of pure clarity for Nesta. Similarly, I don't someone just gets over alcoholism how Nesta did. Addiction is a serious thing and obviously, maybe she's not a full addict but it was implied she was and the way she was able to just quit because the House told her to was silly. By the way, the House was the best character. I would love an enchanted house that just gives me stuff. I would abuse that privilege so much.


"Your power is a song, and one I've waited a very, very long time to hear, Nesta."


The final like 6 chapters were probably the most entertaining events ever. Now, do I wish we could hear more about Nesta's power? Yes. But the way she gave it all up to let Feyre and her niece live was so beautiful. She saved their life and saved Rhysand's and that brought me close to tears. I really appreciated when she called Rhysand her brother and that she loved him even when they wanted to throttle each other because that is the most accurate sibling relationship out there. So when they finally hugged, it was so worth it after 757 pages of them hating on each other. Now the thing I loved the most about all of that was how Nesta's first 'I love you' was to Feyre. That was beautiful and honestly the real indication of how Nesta cared so much. That entire scene had me in tears. Also, I don't love the name Nyx, but I don't hate each other. It's just a very faerie type of name you know.


Nesta truly found herself in these pages. She found her new friends and her cause: the Valkyries. She found her court and her sister's. I feel like I read a whole personality change (in a good way) in a matter of days. One thing that I really appreciated was Elain biting back. I think this was necessary for Nesta because Elain had to show she was her own person. Elain calling out her trauma being hers was so powerful and I felt that in my bones. Now I hope she has some sort of growth in the next book because of my god. I heard some theories saying she's going to be a villain and that would be very fun to read for sure.


"Az has a vicious competitive streak. It was quiet and cruel and utterly lethal."


Now my last paragraph is going to be on a gem that I liked but wasn't obsessed with until this book: Azriel. He legit had like maybe ten lines but boy was I obsessed. He's kind of like my perfect guy, broody, dark, tortured past, secretive, etc. Okay, that sounds bad but I meant well. His humor was some top-tier shit and I loved reading his place in the Inner Circle. I do have so many questions on why he isn't able to sleep and why he does everything he does. So basically what I'm saying is that I need his book ASAP, or otherwise I will literally combust. I know I should have an opinion but I truly can't decide between Elriel and Gwynriel. Elain and he would literally be like Persephone and Hades and the sisters all matching with a brother symbolism is kind of beautiful. Also, his lust for her in his pov was quite intense until our man Rhys shut it down real quick. But Gwyn and him just also seem really good together. They both sing and AHHH. It's going to be very interesting to see how Sarah J. Maas plays his story out for sure.

Quotes

"Everything in her life, from the moment she was born had been controlled by other people. Things happened to her; anytime she tried to exert control, she'd been thwarted at every turn."


"The feared general, felled by seasonal allergies."


"The book is about... a book."


"I went into the Cauldron, too, you know. And it captured me. And yet somehow all you think of is what my trauma did to you."


""It's a small cut. Stop fussing."

"Your skull was cracked, and your arm was broken. You're grounded for a few days."

"You can't be serious."

"Oh, I most certainly am."


"I'll be with you every step of the way. Just don't lock me out. You want to walk in silence for a week, I'm fine with that. So long as you talk to me at the end of it."


"There was only this moment, this thing shared between them, and it lasted for an eternity. Time was no consequence. Time had always stood around him, around them."


"That's the key, isn't it? To know the darkness will always remain, but how you choose to face it, handle it... that's the important part. To not let it consume. To focus upon the good, the things that fill you with wonder."


"Welcome back to the Night Court, Nesta Archeron."

11 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page