top of page
  • Angela Sanil

Malibu Rising

Taylor Jenkins Reid

 

Malibu Rising by Taylor Jenkins Reid

Released: May 27, 2021

Pages: 384

Publisher: Ballantine Books


Overall: 4.5/5

Plot: 4/5

Characters: 5/5

Setting & World-building: 3/5

Emotional Investment: 5/5


"Malibu catches fire."

"Because it is in Malibu's nature to burn."


And once again Ms. Reid pulls out all the stops and wows us with a heartwrenching, family-oriented story on what it means to accept your past to get prepared for your future.


Quick Summary: It's August 1983 in scorching, Hollywood ridden Malibu and it is the day of Nina Riva's annual end-of summer party. Everyone wants to be around the famous Riva siblings: Nina, the model and surfer, Jay and Hud, the two brothers one a pro championship surfer and one a renowned photographer, and then finally Kit, the youngest and overlooked sister. But what makes them the most interesting citizens of Malibu is not their individual skills, but that they are the offspring of the legendary and big-hit singer, Mick Riva. Despite everyone's infatuation with the party Nina is absolutely not looking forward to it especially considering she just very publicly got abonded by pro tennis husband. Oh wait, neither is Hud, because he has been a harboring a secret that could ruin his lifetime bond with Jay and it is time for it to come out. The same cannot be said for Jay, who is excited to meet a mysterious girl at midnight and see where things go. And Kit, she has been keeping a secret of her own by inviting someone to an inviteless party. By midnight the party is soaring and people are having a blast, and by morning the beloved cliff house of Nina Riva's is on fire. But before the first spark the Riva's will come to a conclusion with their secrets and decide once and for all what bonds them together and if that bond could ever be broken.


AHAH I do not know where to start. There are like seven billion thoughts running through my head and picking one is just hard. I have never doubted Reid's work. None of her books have ever let me down and I can proudly say that this one doesn't either. To many, this is about four siblings who love each other but are keeping secrets. I think it is a little more than that. It's also about the power and treachery of Hollywood. It's a love letter to Malibu. And finally, underneath it all, it is the love story and legacy of June Costas.


We begin the story with a prologue-like section talking about Malibu's tendency to burn. I love the symbolism and use of fire and flame in this story. It is set up so nice and countless times throughout the story Reid mentions flames and how burning can ruin but also set free. I would like to call attention to one quote "Just as it is in Malibu’s nature to burn, so was it in one particular person’s nature to set fire and walk away." I didn't think much of this quote when I read it but when I read that quote while reading someone else's review after I had finished the book I was shocked. It is truly such a beautiful sentence that explains so much and means so much more after finishing the book. The storytelling in this book was so amazing. The details incorparted made the book feel authentic and the order of the events with the flashbacks was placed so perfectly I couldn't put the book down. I legit stayed up until 6 am to finish this book because I was that hooked.


So I said this book was the legacy of June Costas, who happens to be the Riva sibling's mother. She was a young girl ready to fall in love and explore more than the confines of her parent's small restaurant. And then that is when she meets Michael "Mick" Riva. Their love was so passionate and so strong. It was a whirlwind of wanting each other and wanting to accomplish their dreams. June's need for wanting a family and two sinks in her bathroom, made me feel so warm and loved inside. And Mick's need to give June everything she wanted and become the next Hollywood hit singer, was so motivating and endearing. Until it wasn't. Because what Mick forgot was that providing materialistic support isn't enough and emotional support is required to maintain a family. So eventually after June has their oldest child, Nina, Mick starts touring and June is so supportive. I sometimes thought she was a little too naive, but it made so much sense because when they met she was 17, and he was 22 or 23. I kind of hate that age gap but I loved (notice the past tense) them so much so I ignored it. My first big red flag git when June was in labour with their second-born, Jay, and despite knowing Mick didn't run back home. If I was in labour and my s/o did that I would literally lose my shit. Mick didn't show up to his own son's birth until seven hours later because he thought one last concert couldn't hurt. And from there everything goes to shit.


Mick becomes a cheater. That horrendous person. And he justified it by saying he didn't feel anything so it wasn't actually hurting June. He even compared it to being offered dessert and saying no, but knowing you will eventually say yes. HAVING DESSERT AND CHEATING ON YOUR BEAUTIFUL LOVING WIFE IS TWO DIFFERENT THINGS, SIR. I kind of lost it and I started crying during this part because my poor wounded heart couldn't deal with the tragedy June faced. And despite it all, she tried even through all the adversities. I won't list them because spoiler (not really). The worst thing was how Mick left her and then a couple of years later June took him back because he said a couple of pretty words. The entire time I was screaming how much of a manipulative asshole he was. I couldn't possibly understand how June could take him back, but I do get how he was kind of the great love of her life. She missed the affection and for the kids, she would do it. Through it all, my heart broke six ways over. Now the pure talent of Reid's evident in this story was how she was able to write Mick so convincingly, that I sometimes wanted Mick for myself but I could also feel like silent warning signs. It made me so confused and I just wanted more.


Now that I've basically given the back story, the present-day will be made so much clearer. Nina had to become a parent essentially to take care of her siblings and I swear to god she deserved better. She was such a giver that she never took the time to take care of herself. All the evil men in her life can go suck it because she doesn't you. I'm talking to you Brandon, Mr. I-play-tennis. Nina, Kit, and June were hands down my favourite characters because of the shit they went through and their resilience was awing.


Jay and Hud were such a beautiful example of a brotherly bond with no toxic masculinity especially considering it is the 80's. Now I hated Hud's secret. Like I get it how something like that could be but man I swear to god Jay deserved better. I would lose my shit if my sister ever did that even if it wasn't about the person. You just don't ever do that. But it did and to top it all off, Hud handled it so badly. Don't lie to people you care about to protect them, more often than not it is more selfish. I actually respect and understand Jay's reaction to the secret because of how much I hated it. Now Jay's little mysterious friend. I didn't get her. She came out west field swinging and I don't really get what the point of her is. Maybe to teach Jay he needs someone better? I honestly have no clue. And then to make it worse she kind of disappeared and was never brought up again after *THAT* scene.


And Kit. I feel like she has the exact type of personality that I would be besties with. But in the story, she didn't get much of a storyline. She was barely there and her self-revelation is a big thing for sure but I couldn't get into it because there was barely any of her to connect with. Despite that, I thought she killed it in the last couple pages with their father, as Nina went off, and Kit went off. It was truly so beautiful to read.


I don't know if I gave this book justice in my rambling review but I do honestly mean it when I say I love this book. It is the perfect summer read that is also a little bit more than just a summer read. I recommend this book to everyone so hard. I would now greatly appreciate it if Ms. Taylor Jenkins Reid can hurry up writing the 90's book.


Quotes

"Jay may be the one riding the wave but Hud was the one making it look beautiful."


"Sugar for my sugar, sweet for my sweet."


"I trusted what you said more than I trusted myself."


"Our parents live inside us, whether they stick around or not."


"She could not sustain her life fueled only by the memories of those she once loved."


"They had taught her that family is found, that whether it be blood or circumstance or choice, what binds us does not matter. All that matters is that we are bound."


"Nina understood, maybe for the first time, that letting people love you and care for you is part of how you love and care for them."

11 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page