top of page
  • Angela Sanil

A Court of Wings And Ruins (ACOTAR #3)

Sarah J. Maas

 

A Court of Wings and Ruin (ACOTAR #3) by Sarah J. Maas

Released: May 2, 2017

Pages: 705

Publisher: Bloomsbury


Overall: 4.5/5

Plot: 4/5

Characters: 5/5

Setting & World-building: 4/5

Emotional Investment: 5/5


“And will you come with me; On this adventure - and all the rest?"

"Always"


So I cried. As one does when rereading books, even though they didn't cry the first time they read it.


Quick Summary: Feyre has been led into the Spring Court and is officially the spy looking for anyway to overthrow all of Tamlin's deceitful actions. As she continues on this path, the war looms closer and she and her court soon realize they have to get allies and ready for a war. But as she plays politics and logistics, her heart might be the biggest thing getting played.


Okay this picks up exactly where it left off in the last book, with Feyre literally about to ruin the entire Spring Court. The growth she had to get to this position where she was confidently ruining Tamlin's life was beautiful. Despite this being an amazingly cunning act on Feyre's part it was slow. I just don't like Tamlin so when he's in chapters I get so bored. That made it slightly difficult to get through the first 10 ish chapters.


Despite me knowing I love this book, this one is significantly slower than the last even though this is the ending. That was a little concerning because there were some chapters that felt tedious and painful and I was only reading through them because I wanted to get to the one big scene I cared about- the High Lord's meeting. Now that meeting was probably everything I wanted but also the most infuriating thing ever. When Rhys, then Azriel, and then Feyre all blew up because the Hig Lord's are a bunch of hateful people it was powerful and made me so happy. Beron, Lord of the Autumn Court deserves to die, alongside Tamlin of course. They both slut-shamed Mor, Feyre, and Rhys and my heart literally broke. I do not stand for that kind of slander/hate towards anyone whether I like that character or not. I could hate you, but I would never stoop as low to make fun of or shame you for your personal leisure activities.


"Be happy, Feyre."


Rhys and Feyre's relationship bloomed in this book. Their reunion was literally the most beautiful thing ever. Also, I like how they value honesty (I know that he messes this up in the future, but I'm not going to be mad, yet) and loyalty amongst each other and the Inner Circle. When Feyre called out Rhys, for the kind of rude comment about Nesta I had such a proud girl moment. Like I don't think Nesta deserves Feyre's forgiveness but honestly, that's kind of exactly how my relationship with my sister is, so no judging. They did like kiss each other's face an awful amount in the most random times too, kind of awkward but cute nonetheless. Now when our self-sacrificing king did what he did in the last couple of chapters I started crying. It wasn't pretty but I was just so mad at him for thinking that if he died everything would be fine. His family would literally be more broken, but anyway it's fine cause he's alright.


"I would have waited five hundred more years for you. A thousand years. And if this was all the time we were allowed to have... The wait was worth it."


The love I have for the Inner Circle grew tenfold in this book. Cassian and Azriel are the best friends anyone could ask for. They are supportive and honest and funny and every other positive adjective in the thesaurus. Now, all I wish is for Azriel to be truly happy with whoever he ends up with. Mor has been through so many hardships in her life and she finally found a family that cares for her. Feyre kind of forcing Mor to come out was not okay. I don't condone that or support that, but I'm glad that Mor told someone, only because hiding that kind of news causes lots of harm for an individual. Now, does she feel a bit token? Yes. And that is why I'm praying to every God above that Sarah J. Maas hears this and tries to incorporate more LGBTQ rep. Also, diversity because I don't know what race I'm supposed to think when she identifies everyone as "tan".


"Be careful how you speak about my High Lady"


Now, Nesta, I've always been on the fence about her. At the beginning of this book, she was rude to Feyre for no reason other than that she was Fae now. But as the storyline progresses, there were moments of beautiful growth between Nesta and Feyre. Like she noticed how Feyre has a fear of small areas and said sorry for not knowing that she didn't know how to read. It was truly beautiful, so when I remembered that she becomes rude again in the next book, I paid more attention to this one so I could fully understand where it was coming from. And I get it. The whole father professing he loved her despite his neglect, and then promptly dying is hard on any child. Plus she saw people get slaughtered and Cassian almost die. All of that has such an impact on an individual and so when she isolated herself after the initial battle, I kind of got it. Everybody responds to grief and trauma differently. My only hope is that everyone remembers trauma explains your behavior but doesn't excuse it.


"When you erupt, girl, make sure it is felt across worlds."


I'm going to be honest. Now I do not know if this is because I have read the book before or because this actually happened, but I felt like the stakes weren't that high in this book. Like sometimes I felt them super high, but like when Hybern was just slaughtering masses for fun, I was kind of like "okay, and?" I cared but I didn't care as much as I thought would. Because I live in a beautiful land of denial, I'm going to believe it is the former- that I read the book before.


Now I only have A Court of Frost and Starlight, before I can finally get to the book I've been patiently waiting to read, A Court of Silver Flames. The name 100% bothers me but I won't mind if the book finally gives Nessian a good romance.


Quotes

"Blood rubies or not, you will always have one friend in the Summer Court"

"And you will always have one in mine."


"If you hadn't stolen my bride away in the night, Rhysand, I would not have been forced to take such drastic measures to get her back."

"The sun was shining when I left you."


"It's a rare person to see who they are and not run from it- not be broken by it."


"I see all of you, Rhys. And there is not one part I do not love with everything I am."


"Night Triumphant- and the Stars Eternal"


"I have no regrets in my life, but this. That we did not have time. That I did not have time with you, Nesta. I will find you in the next world- the next life. And we will have that time. I promise."


"The great joy and honor of my life has been to know you. To call you my family. And I am grateful - more than I can possibly say - that I was given this time with you all."

12 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page