top of page
  • Angela Sanil

A Court of Frost and Starlight (ACOTAR #3.1)

Sarah J. Maas

 

Released: May 1, 2018

Pages: 272

Publisher: Bloomsbury


Overall: 3.5/5

Plot: 2/5

Characters: 3/5

Setting & World-building: 3/5

Emotional Investment: 4/5


"Mother above and Cauldron save me"


Kind of a pointless book, but I like the domestic life. This is purely a book for readers to catch up on their favorite characters and has nothing to do with progressing the plot.


Quick Summary: Basically it is Solstice (Christmas) and Feyre, Rhys and the Inner Circle are all battling their own demons as they come together for a week of celebrating, eating, and giving presents.


So this review is going to be short because this is one hella short book. Now we know that this is a novella, and I'm going to guess this takes place like 5-6 months after the events of ACOWAR. Everyone is patiently rebuilding Velaris and trying to get the city back to prosperity after the events of the war. I like reading my favorite character's daily lives and them just existing and cracking jokes so this book was fine for me. That said it really had no plot other than the last pov.


The last pov is Nesta getting kicked out of Velaris. My own maturity in the past year was evident when I read this passage because I actually felt bad for Nesta. I still don't like how she treated Feyre but when I read her little snippets it is so obvious she has depression. Clearly, she needs help, but I don't like how they stopped inviting her to things. Don't get me wrong, if somebody always said no to hanging out with me it would suck but Nesta is suffering and the first rule is never making them feel left out. They can pull away but you always invite them and try to include them. It actually also hurt me that Feyre had no pictures of Nesta in their new house. That made me feel bad. Now many people hate Sarah J. Maas' idea to get Feyre to kick out Nesta by saying it's rude but you have to understand that there would be no next story if she didn't do this. It's just a plot-making method.


While reading this book I realized I have a lot of indifference to Feyre. Like I don't hate her but I don't care for her either. She kind of just is. SOmething's she does, especially her personality with the Inner Circle is fun to read and makes me like her. But otherwise, I just can't connect. Whereas Rhys I will love forever. Except when Feyre sent a picture of their possible newborn and he climaxed. That was weird and uncomfortable and in reality like 13 felonies.


Azriel finally showed a glimpse of his personality. He's witty but I'm sorry to say I don't get the hype. Objectively, the artists who draw him show him as hot and his two-three lines in every book are very solid and powerful bot like there isn't enough intel on him for me to think he's amazing. I hope that changes, oh well.


Finally, I have finished my rereading so I can start A Court of Silver Flames. I have been waiting for this book to come into the library for like two months and I can finally read it in all its glory.


Quotes

"My mate -- who had worked so hard and so selflessly, all without hope that I would ever be with him."


"We had both fought for that love, bled for it. Rhys died for it."


"To the blessed darkness from which we are born, to which we return."


""Pick on someone your own size," Cassian said to Amren.

"I'd feel bad for the mice," Azriel muttered."


"Cassian had named about two dozen poses for Nesta at this point. Ranging from I Will Eat Your Eyes for Breakfast to I Don't Want Cassian to Know I'm Reading Smut. The latter was his particular favorite."

13 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page